top of page

Investing In the Future

The national organization, American Association of University Women (AAUW) has a proud history of helping women pursue higher education when few women had that opportunity. Over 115 years ago, here in Hawaii the founders of the College Club – the organization that would become AAUW Honolulu – wrote that their founding principle was to promote “the higher ideals of education among women”. That principle continues on as one of AAUW Honolulu’s core missions through our promoting and awarding undergraduate and graduate scholarships to women in Hawaii.


AAUW Honolulu promotes inclusiveness and strives to reflect the diversity of the island in its general membership, board and program participants. We recognize that our commitment to equity, inclusion and diversity is imperative to our mission and greatly enriches the effectiveness of our programs.


Our Academic Scholarship Team is made up of AAUW Honolulu member and supporters. The team plans and oversees both graduate and undergraduate scholarships. The graduate scholarships are administered by the Hawaii Community Foundation (HCF), while AAUW Honolulu directly administers the undergraduate scholarships.


Our Team considers each undergraduate applicant based on the written application and an interview.

Scholarship Team: Programs

The 2023-24 Academic Scholarship Team Members

Jean Evans.png

Jean Evans, Chair

Janet Morse.jpg

Janet Morse, Past Chair

Anne Abaya.png

Anne Abaya

Carolyn Alexander.jpeg

Carolyn Alexander

Marcia Armstrong.jpg

Marcia Armstrong


Hope Bennett

Karen Chen.JPG

Karen Chen

Jean McIntosh.JPG

Jean McIntosh

Anna Viggiano.jpg

Anna Viggiano

Barbara Bumatay 229 - Scholarship AAUW.jpg

Barbara Bumatay

Elizabeth Kiefer - Scholarship AAUW.jpg

Elizabeth Kiefer

Scholarshp Team: Form


Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page